I Wish I Was Your Father


This afternoon the spirit quickened me to write these words. God is awesome enjoy.

I Wish I Was Your Father

I wish i was your Father so I could show you the way

I’d be your guiding light,teach you how to speak to giants, and exactly what to say.

I wish I was your Father so I could bandage your pain

Then pain of wondering why your “real daddy” left you and all you have is his name.

I wish I was your Father so I can teach you to be a man

Your mom is really trying but she’s doing the best that she can.

I wish I was your Father so I could warn you about  life

I’d teach you about being faithful to girls and prepare you for a wife.

I wish I was your Father so I could teach you how to save

Because no one wants to put you away in a pine box or unmarked grave.

I wish I was your Father so I could show you violence was not the way

For bullets have no name and knives will strip your life away.

I wish I was your Father so I could show you what love is

Your life has been full of pain and that’s not a way to live.

I wish I was your Father so we could do what Father and Son do

I’d show you how to fish, barbeque and show you that women are a virtue.

I wish I was your Father, because I’d teach you to pray

Because praying to my Father helps me make it everyday.

I wish I was your Father to walk upright before you

I’d show you real men love Jesus and live with honor and truth.

I wish I was you Father, so I could change your name

I’d tell you our family history, and leave a legacy for you without shame.

I wish I was your Father, because I’m tired of seeing you hurt

You watch other kids with their dads and everyday it gets worse.

I wish I was your Father, then we could celebrate this today

But Young man I’m not your Father, but if I was you’d be happy to say that today is my Daddy’s Day.

Yancey L. Conerly-James

*Just Call Me Justified,.

1 Comment

  1. Gary Jones said,

    June 23, 2010 at 4:29 pm

    Dude, I just had a chance to read this. This is good. U certainly can write well well Golden Child lol!


Leave a Reply

